My most humble thanks

The other night, while I was studying for an exam, I got two wonderful surprises. I was nominated for two blogging awards. How did I find this out when I was supposed to be studying? The flashing blue light on my phone telling me I had new emails. Everyone needs some kind of study break, right? Anyway, the Liebster Award was the first nomination I had a look at. I was nominated by the delightful Caroline over at The Novel Project Chronicles. You should all probably go over and check out her blog. It’s so beautifully presented and it’s about books! What’s not to like?

Funny thing is, I’ve been nominated for the Liebster before. Earlier this year, in fact, by C.J., my soulmate in books, over at The Book Boozer.  You can check out my original nomination here. Purely for bragging purposes, of course.

Anyway back to my current nomination because I am deeply moved and honoured to have been nominated again. So, here goes:

The rules are as follows:

  • Link back to the person who nominated you
  • Post 11 facts about yourself.
  • Answer the 11 questions set by your nominator
  • Nominate 11 other bloggers with under 200 followers (you can’t nominate the person who nominated you)
  • Set 11 questions for your nominees to answer
  • Let your nominees know you’ve nominated them.

All about me:

  1. It took me about six months to figure out that I have hayfever. I’ve never had it before so I actually thought I was just allergic to something at work
  2. I usually hate the genre, but my favourite song at the moment is “Loud” by Tech Nine and a bunch of other guys.
  3. My ringtone is a metal version of the Sherlock theme song
  4. I have to physically restrain myself from buying books when I go into bookshops. Well, at the moment. I really have to get my TBR list under control.
  5. I have to have a bottle of water next to me at all times because if I get too dehydrated, I get absolutely devastating headaches.
  6. I like procrastibaking.
  7. I focus on the future so much that sometimes I forget about the present. Like, I’m more sure of what I’m going to be doing five years from now than  I am of what I’m going to be doing next week.
  8. I have legitimately forgotten how to ride a bike before.
  9. I hate birds. Their claws freak me out. I don’t like them climbing on me, it feels weird.
  10. I am the biggest lightweight you will ever meet. Seriously, I can get totally smashed on a four pack of Smirnoff Double Blacks. If I have a few glasses of something on top of that and I am in danger of falling over and dancing barefoot in driveways (which definitely didn’t happen a month ago at a mate’s house).
  11. I really, really feel like a burger right now.

Some questions to be answered:

  1. Do you have a favourite book genre?
    Of course I do. And I think you all know what it is, but for those who don’t I’ll spell it out: fantasy. Specifically, YA fantasy. YA fantasy has a tendency to be more relatable and more about the story and the characters than about the world that’s being created. High end fantasy always seems to focus more on the world, which annoys me a bit.
  2. Why did you start blogging?
    I actually started blogging just before I graduated from my Bachelor of Fine Arts (Creative and Professional Writing). We’d been nagged and nagged by our lecturers and tutors to start a blog so that potential employers could see at least something of our work. I left it a bit late, but I’ve been blogging for over a year now and I love it. I just wished I’d started earlier.
    I also started this blog as a bit of writing practise. Given that I’m studying a psychology degree now, the time I have for creative writing is a lot more restricted. This way, I can keep my writing muscle nice and toned for when I actually have time to write again.
  3. What is your favourite movie?
    This chops and changes a lot. I love The Blind Side, Hairspray, Captain America, The Avengers, Ironman, Sherlock Holmes, Grease. All of these, plus a few others, stay on rotation as my favourite movie. I really can’t decide.   
  4. If you could eat only one type of meal for the rest of your life, what would you eat?
    Italian. It’s the only kind with garlic bread. And garlic bread is my weakness.
  5. Did you have a favourite subject in school/college?
    In high school it was Ancient History. I could lie and say it was English but high school English isn’t really the kind of writing I liked doing. Ancient History, though, was amazing. I am still obsessed with Thera (Santorini) to this day. A matriarchal society way back in Ancient Greece? Awesome! Goddamn that volcano.
    In uni, my favourite subject was Creative Non-Fiction. I wasn’t very good, but the stuff they taught was so interesting. Plus, my favourite lecturer taught that subject. He was amazing. I could listen to his Icelandic accent for hours, I swear.
  6. If you could live inside one TV show, movie or book which one would you choose?
    So, I can’t choose just one, so I’m going to do one of each:
    TV Show: Reign. All of those beautiful dresses and royalty and all of the British accents (overlooking the fact that Mary is supposed to be Scottish and would probably have spoken with the Scottish brogue). I mean, I would love to live in the world of Doctor Who but if I’m being honest, I would be the worst companion. I don’t run very fast and I’m a big ol’ fraidy cat. I’ll leave the bravery to Rose and Donna and Amy.
    Movie: Stranger Than Fiction. Such a cool concept. I mean, I don’t know which role I’d want, but to live in a world where fiction and reality intersect so that you’re not sure which is which anymore? I think it’d be fun, if only from a writer’s perspective.
    Book: The Infernal Devices and I’d be Tessa. Victorian England, Will Herondale, magic, steampunk, and Magnus Bane? Doesn’t get much better than that.
  7. Do you like to have snacks with you when watching movies or reading?
    Movies, always. It’s weird going to the movies without snacks. It feels wrong, somehow. Books, it depends. I like to have tea or hot chocolate when I’m reading but I don’t always have to be eating. If I do, it’s usually chocolate or Tim Tams. Speaking of which, peanut butter Tim Tams are a thing. I need to see if they’re still around.
  8. Can you play a musical instrument?
    I actually can! I played flute for about five years. Not sure how much of it I could remember at present, but I did do a few exams and managed to pass them. I did guitar for a year but not very seriously.  
  9. Describe your perfect day.
    Lying in one of those lush hotel beds until ten o’clock with a good book. Then someone brings me scrambled eggs, bacon, hash browns, grilled tomato with a proper soy mocha and I eat it in bed. Then, I eventually get ready, and go outside where there’s a beach. There waiting for me are a few of my closest friends and we walk to the beach (private), where we spend the whole day, music playing on some everlasting speakers while we sun bake and swim, sun bake and swim. When we’re too tired and delirious from sun exposure to continue, someone brings us crunchy chicken salt chips, garlic chicken balls, delicious burgers, and some fresh bread for those chips. All of this is non-fattening, by the way. We eat as we watch the sun set over the water and then go our separate ways.
    I go back to my hotel and put on my fanciest clothes, and go back downstairs. He’s waiting for me there, dressed in a collared shirt, black slacks, and dress shoes. And we go to dinner. Nothing too fancy. Not an expensive place, just a nice place with a little candlelight. And tiramisu. We sit there, talk, eat, laugh, and drink a little. Then, in our fancy clothes, we go back to that private beach with a bottle of vodka I swiped from the hotel. We light a fire on the beach and sit back, under the moonlight, as we pass the bottle back and forth. Not to get totally trashed, but just to get a little tipsy. The fire burns out and we stumble, classily of course, back to the hotel. And then …
  10. What one thing do you wish would be invented?
    A job title, actually. It’s something I picked up from Facebook. Any movie based on a book needs to have a Fandom Consultant: someone who makes sure that any changes made to the story are in service of the story and not the Hollywood Agenda. So that every book-to-movie is as flawless as The Hunger Games movies.
  11. What is your tipple of choice?
    Cocktails. Just not strong ones, like Long Island Iced Tea. More like mojitos, this coconut cocktail I had the other night, espresso martinis, Mudslides, you get the picture.
    When cocktails aren’t available, I like vodka. Vodka goes with everything. You can never be out of mixers with vodka around. Plus, have you ever had lemon lime and bitters with vodka? Delicious.

And the nominees are:

  1. Myperbole
  2. born and read
  3. It’s Only Three
  4. The Never-Ending Bookshelf
  5. Just Add Story
  6. a storm of teacups
  7. Devoted Eclectic
  8. thebookheap
  9. thebookboozer
  10. Coffee talk with Erin
  11. Hannah Dunn Photography

The Liebster Interview:

  1. When was the last time a book truly moved you?
  2. Who, in your opinion, is the most overrated Hollywood star?
  3. When did you last laugh in an inappropriate setting?
  4. What’s a trend that you just don’t understand?
  5. What was the last TV show you got hooked on?
  6. Have you ever kept a diary?
  7. Do you remember the last time you bought a CD?
  8. What are you using to read this right now?
  9. Which was your favourite age?
  10. How are you feeling today?
  11. If you could have a conversation with anyone (but sadly, they have to have been real), who would it be and what would you say?
About Bec Graham

Bec Graham, 24, was born on the wrong continent. Everything from her burns-like-paper skin tone to her inability to cope with the slightest hint of a hot day suggests she should have been born under the gloomy skies and mild sun of the UK. She hopes writing will get her to her rightful home one day. Failing that, she scans the skies for a spinning blue police box, hoping to catch a lift back to the motherland.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My most humble thanks

  1. dunnhm says:

    Thank you! x Now it’s time for me to get busy…

  2. bornandread says:

    Fandom consultant – yes, yes, yes. You have to make this happen!

  3. Fandom consultant – this really really needs to be a thing!

    Also, I completely agree with your thoughts on high end fantasy – “yes, yes you spent ages constructing this world and it’s beautiful but can we get on with the story now?”

    I look forward to checking out your nominations soon.

    • Bec Graham says:

      I know right? And we could have a consultant for each of the fandoms. Jobs all around! The only high end fantasy I’ve ever been able to stomach is The Night Angel Trilogy. It balances the world building with the story beautifully.

      And you really should check out the nominations! They’re all awesome blogs 🙂

  4. ezpat1981 says:

    Thanks so much for nominating me Bec! PS. I am with you on the Fandom Consultant…:-)

  5. Pingback: The Liebster Award | My Infernal Imagination

Leave a Reply

