The Liebster Award

Hello my dear blogosphere friends! I was supposed to post this particular post ages ago! In between moving and reading and new movies and new books, I have neglected this post and I feel awful about it! The lovely creator of the wonderful Confessions of a Food Tourist blog nominated me for the Liebster Award and I feel so ungrateful. I have been nominated for this award previously (twice, in fact!) but every single nomination gives me a wonderful warm and fuzzy feeling. Which is, again, why I feel so terrible for how long this post has taken me to publish. The way we bloggers shine spotlights on each other and encourage each other to keep blogging is amazing to me. So I will keep the tradition of the Liebster Award alive and kicking by adhering to the rules of accepting this prestigious award. The rules are as follows:

  • Link back to the person who nominated you
  • Post 11 facts about yourself.
  • Answer the 11 questions set by your nominator
  • Nominate 11 other bloggers with under 200 followers (you can’t nominate the person who nominated you)
  • Set 11 questions for your nominees to answer
  • Let your nominees know you’ve nominated them.

Seeing as I’ve already linked back to my nominator’s blog (and you should have all clicked the link so that you can start following it!) I suppose it’s time for my eleven random facts:

1.   I am lactose intolerant. However, all this means is that I can’t eat yoghurt or have real milk in my coffee. I can still eat cheese, cream, ice cream, and most other kinds of delectable dairy goodness.
2.   My Samsung S5 is Iron Man. My phone is gold, the case is red, and so I found a picture of Iron Man’s mask and made it my lock screen. Not only this, but if you connect to my phone via Bluetooth it comes up as ‘Stark Industries’.
3.   I have never seen a James Bond movie
4.   I went ten years without eating mangoes because the first time I had one it was stringy and I thought they were all supposed to be like that.
5.   I can’t read if I’m angry. I can’t concentrate.
6.   I once had a frog jump on my face in that foggy period between waking and sleeping.
7.   Just recently realised that I don’t actually give second chances very easily. If someone hurts me or someone I care about, that person is done. The way I see it is that if someone thought so little of you to hurt you/wrong you in the first place, then they will have no qualms about doing it again.
8. I can’t watch the news. I get too worked up over it. Not just the fact that there is so much human misery in the world, but the fact that the politicians featured on the news nearly every night always seem to be making some kind of horrible decision that makes life harder for everyday Australians. I can’t even tell you how happy I am that the Queensland Premier got voted out.
9. I have actually spat on someone in disgust before.
10. I refuse to pick up hitchhikers. But not for the reasons that your parents usually tell you. After reading Sins of the Brother, about Ivan Milat, I can’t bring myself to slow down the car. Milat was a serial killer who would pick up hitchhikers and murder them. So even though it was the guy picking up the hitchhikers doing the murdering, I still can’t bring myself to pick them up.
11. As of this year, I have worn glasses for over half of my life.

And here are my eleven questions to answer:

  1. Summer or Winter?
    I much prefer winter to summer. I don’t handle heat very well. So even though I love the beach, I prefer to be snuggled up in bed with a cup of hot chocolate and a book way more.
  2. First paid job?
    My first ever job was at Subway. Thing is, I still work at Subway. I’ve worked there for about seven years. Different Subways, and I’ve had other jobs, but for the most part I’ve stayed with the same company. Subway gives me a lot of flexibility while I study. I really should branch out though. I need to develop some different skills. Particularly for when I finally graduate uni.
  3. Favourite author?
    I have two. I love Neil Gaiman for his plots and his way with words. But I love Cassandra Clare for her characters. No one writes characters like Clare. If these two collaborated, they could break the literary world as we know it.
  4. You’re hosting an intimate dinner party and can invite 3 celebrities (living or dead) – who would you invite, and why?
    Oh, God. The choices! Honestly, I’d probably invite Tom Hiddleston, Patrick Stump, and Barack Obama.
    Hiddleston because I admire him as an actor and as a human being. Have you seen how into his characters he gets? For the comprehensive list of reasons, just click here.
    Patrick Stump I’d invite because Fall Out Boy is probably my all-time favourite band and I feel like Patrick is the most talented out of all of them. With that voice? And he arranges the music. Pete does the lyrics, but Patrick is the one who knows how each song is going to sound.
    Barack Obama I’d invite because he is the only politician I respect. I mean, all politicians make mistakes but I feel like Obama has done more to be proud of in his tenure as President than the majority of Australian Prime Ministers have over the past few decades.
  5. Most memorable holiday/vacation meal
    I’ve had a few memorable holiday meals, but I suppose the one that comes to mind first is one my sister and I had in Thailand in 2013. Our hotel in Phuket was just down the road from some nighttime food markets, so we’d go down there and get our dinner each night. All for less than $10AUD each. Anyway, on our first night I saw this delicious looking chicken and rice. So I grabbed some. It was battered and sprinkled with sesame seeds. Or what I thought were sesame seeds. Turned out? They were chili seeds. I was in so much pain while I ate that meal. But I was so hungry and incredibly conscious of how much money I had to spend, so I ate the whole. Damn. Thing. Good thing my sister and I had found a delicious stall that made fruit smoothies for about $2AUD. I washed that chicken down with a pineapple and coconut smoothie to die for.
  6. Favourite photo you’ve taken yourself (feel free to post and/or describe)

    I pulled over on my way home from work the other day to take this photo. Not only was there a double rainbow but the cars were giving off rainbows! It was a  magical ride home.

    I pulled over on my way home from work the other day to take this photo. Not only was there a double rainbow but the cars were giving off rainbows! It was a magical ride home.

  7. Write down a line or two of lyrics from the first song that pops into your head right…now!
    Some legends are told, some turn to dust not to gold,. But you will remember me. Remember me for centuries.
  8. Your number one dream destination that you haven’t visited yet (be as specific or generic as you like)
    London. I have my holiday all planned out for when I eventually go there. Most importantly, the plan is to live in London for at least twelve months at some point in my life. I am obsessed with all things British. Self-confessed anglophile, that’s me.
  9. If you could meet anyone in history, who would it be, and what would you ask (or tell) them?
    I’ve only recently seen The Imitation Game, so my answer would have to be Alan Turing. And I would tell him how deeply sorry I am for how he was treated after World War II. What happened to Turing was a travesty. A travesty that could have been prevents, if only people practiced a little more compassion and understanding.
  10. Describe what happened the last time you laughed out loud (it’s okay if nobody else gets it – it happens to me all the time!)
    Today, at work. We have this absolutely atrocious new employee who has one of the worst attitudes I’ve ever seen. So we were telling each other jokes in order to ease the pain a little, I guess. Nothing outrageously hilarious, but I definitely laughed out loud. Maybe a little too loudly, but I needed some kind of release. This chick was really getting under my skin!
  11. What was the first movie you remember seeing at the cinema/movie theatre?
    I think it was 101 Dalmations. All I remember is being bored because it wasn’t an animated movie. This was the one with Glenn Close as Cruella de Vil.

Update: I actually got nominated for this award again, by the lovely Bridget over at Stay and Watch the Stars. And because I don’t know myself well enough to write another 11 facts about myself, I’ll answer Bridget’s questions instead! So here are my answers:

  1. What’s your favorite quote?
    We must always be careful of books and what is inside them for words have the power to change us.
    Ten points to Gryffindor if you know that quote! Twenty if you know who said it!
  2. Who are some people you look up to? (Family members, celebrities, fictional characters, whatever)
    I look up to my mother. She is Superwoman. And the most selfless person I know
  3. What’s your favorite band/ musician? And your favorite song by them?
    Fall Out Boy. And my favourite song is actually from their newest album, American Beauty/American Psycho. The song is called Jet Pack Blues. You need this song in your life. You just don’t know it yet.
  4. What’s your favorite fictional character? (Name multiples if you want. I won’t judge.)
    Will Herondale.
  5. What’s your OTP? (Same as above.)
    You know what? It’s gotta be TenxRose. It’s the first OTP I think of whenever I get asked this question, so it must be that one.
  6. Press shuffle on your iPod or whatever you listen to music on. What’s the title of the song that comes up first?
    Girl That You Love by Panic! At The Disco
    (I’m really trying not to let it bother me that this song should be called Girl WHO You Love)
  7. Name a fictional character that you really relate to.
    Cather, from Fangirl. She uses fiction to escape from her reality. She has more reason to do it than I do, obviously, but I still tend to escape into my books or TV shows or movies whenever life gets on top of me.
  8. What was the last essay that you wrote for school about?
    “The usefulness of personality testing in the workplace”. I know, right? Riveting stuff!
  9. What’s your favorite gif?
    I kind of don’t have one. But I googled ‘Tom Hiddleston GIFs’ and this came up:

    I think I found my new favourite GIF. Oh, Tom…
  10. What’re some of your hobbies/ things you feel really passionate about?
    I’m a writer. Well, I try to be. I’m a bit wishy washy with it though. I have to be in the mood for it, which is stupid. I should write everyday. And as much as I love to blog, blogging just doesn’t count. I don;t have to make up stories!
  11. Who’s your favorite author?
    I really do have two. Honest. I love Cassie Clare for her realer-than-real characters and Neil Gaiman for his stories and his way with words. If these two collaborated, my head would explode!

Now, for my nominated bloggers. I can’t quite make it eleven because most of my bloggers who once qualified for the Liebster now have way too many followers! You’re all too popular for your own good. So for this, I apologise. I wish I could nominate anyone!

  1. Born and Read
  2. It’s Only Three
  3. Tumbling Into Wonderland
  4. The Never Ending Bookshelf
  5. thebookheap
  6. Lost in a Good Book

And now for my questions:

  1. Do you ever leave a book unfinished? And if so, what causes you to leave it unfinished?
  2. What’s your all-time favourite quote?
  3. If you could punch anyone in the face right this second (alive, dead, real, fictional, celebrity, guy-next-door) who would it be?
  4. Is there something that you just can’t bear to throw away, even though it’s in desperate need of replacing?
  5. Your latest guilty pleasure? (Mine’s Hart of Dixie)
  6. What should you be doing right now?
  7. Last thing you did that scared you?
  8. Best bookmark you ever had (come on…you know you have one)?
  9. How far have you taken your bookish fangirl(or boy)ishness? Tattoos? Jewellery? Named your firstborn after your favourite OTP?
  10. If you could have any fictional character as one of your teachers/tutors/lecturers, who would it be? (They don’t actually have to be an educator in their universe).
  11. So you’re a blogger … what are your other hobbies?
About Bec Graham

Bec Graham, 24, was born on the wrong continent. Everything from her burns-like-paper skin tone to her inability to cope with the slightest hint of a hot day suggests she should have been born under the gloomy skies and mild sun of the UK. She hopes writing will get her to her rightful home one day. Failing that, she scans the skies for a spinning blue police box, hoping to catch a lift back to the motherland.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Liebster Award

  1. bornandread says:

    Thanks for the nomination! I’m about to go on holidays, so that’ll give me plenty of time to think up witty answers to your questions 😉
    (p.s. I love Hart of Dixie as well…#teamwade)

Leave a Reply

