And the winner is…

It is the joyous time of year when all of the tutors in all of the university degrees get together and decide that all of the students get to have no social life for at least seven days. Do these people not communicate? Why is it that all assignments are due within days of each other? It’s like these “educators” don’t actually want us to do well on these assignments – they just want to see how quickly we crack under pressure. Which is probably not the healthiest approach for those teaching their students how to become mental health care professionals.

So, because it is Death Week, or Stress Week, or Chained-To-My-Desk week, I haven’t been able to write for ages. Actually, I just checked the date of my last post: two weeks ago! For those of you who aren’t writers, not being able to write is basically the equivalent of a smoker going without nicotine. I almost lost my mind. So today, as I was scrolling through my inbox, I got an update from one of my favourite bloggers, thebookboozer, saying that she had won an award! Congratulations! So I clicked the email and as I was reading came to the startling realisation that she had nominated me for the same award! Here it is:

liebsteraward

Isn’t it beautiful?

This is my second blogging award and I am so unbelievably grateful to even be nominated. Especially because this award is specifically for new bloggers. Underdogs represent! Technically speaking, I’ve only been doing this for a few months, but it feels like forever (in a good way). I don’t know what I was doing with my free time before this blog. More than likely nothing too productive. Anyway, here are the rules attached to the Liebster award:

liebster-award-rules

Here’s some personal trivia about your friendly neighbourhood book blogger:

  1. I have recently become eligible for a “gold card” at my local bookstore. What this means is that in the past year I have spent over $650 on books. Over. Six. Hundred. And. Fifty. Dollars. You know the sad thing? $650 only buys about 33 books. That’s not even a book a week!
  2. I have friends who are unaware of my natural hair colour. For the record, I’m brunette. But at the moment? My hair is Hayley Williams orange. Yes, that is a colour.
  3. According to my grandmother, I am somehow related to Princess Diana. Apparently it depends if someone had an affair with someone. Honestly, I just like the idea that there is a possibility that I’m related to royalty. It explains why my second and third toes are longer than my big toe.
  4. When I was a kid, I honestly believed that my primary school teachers lived behind the blackboard.
  5. Another when-I-was-a-kid fact: I was obsessed with the twelve gods of Mount Olympus. However, I am yet to read the Percy Jackson series.
  6. I buy my songs on iTunes instead of downloading them because I now have a Mac laptop and have never quite figured out how to do the whole torrent thing with Apple software.
  7. Every now and then I am forcibly struck by the fact that one day I am going to die and I completely freeze for a few seconds.
  8. I go to movies and concerts alone just because I am too stubborn to miss out on something, or someone, I want to see just because no one wants to go with me.
  9. My sister and I have matching tattoos. Doctor Who themed matching tattoos.
  10. Sometimes I have prophetic dreams. Only, they’re always about conversations I’ll have or a place I’ll walk into or the way my room looks rather than anything super exciting. Once I had déjà vu for about five minutes as I walked to class with a friend and everything either one of us said, I had dreamed about a few weeks earlier.
  11. IwasaTwihardinhighschool.

I actually really like the rules attached to this award. It’s kind of like keeping a diary. Something I used to do religiously but haven’t done at all since my ex found my diaries one day and read them all. I haven’t been able to pick up my diary since. Anyways, here’s the eleven questions I get to answer:

1. What is the first book you remember reading?
In primary school we were given books to read for homework. These were all from a series of books called “Aussie Bites”. They had nothing in common except they looked as though someone had taken a bite out of the top right hand corner. There was no underlying storyline.
Anyway, I have a vivid memory of sitting on my Mum’s – then – new blue lounge, reading by kitchen-light as my Mum made dinner, about a girl who found herself on a brand new planet, sometime in the future. And in this brave new world, the curse word of choice for youngsters was “politician”. I wish I knew who had written that book!

2. Hardcover or Paperback?
Paperback all the way. Ever since the plastic coating on my copy of  Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets started to come off about eleven years ago, I have covered all of my books in clear contact. Paperbacks are so much easier to cover than hardback. Besides, paperbacks are cheaper!

3. Dog-ear pages or bookmark?
BOOKMARK BOOKMARK BOOKMARK! I am such a Nazi about dog-earing pages that if I see a friend dog-earing a page or worse, keeping the book open by leaving it splayed against the ground (it ruins the spine!), I will find them a bookmark or rip a bit of paper out of something so that they can mark their page without ruining their books.
Last year, one of the book shop chains here, QBD, released this campaign called “hipster confessions”. One of these confessions was that this “hipster” (read: moron) crumpled their books so that they looked more readI saw red for a few seconds, I swear.

4. Who is your favorite literary character?
William Herondale. Hands down. No competition. Next question.

5. How do you feel about book-to-movie adaptations?
Reading and watching The Perks of Being A Wallflower changed my mind about book adaptations a great deal. If the author of a book still makes changes to their original text when they are the director of that book’s movie, then I suppose some of the changes made to my favourite books aren’t so bad.
HOWEVER: VALENTINE IN THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS MOVIE WAS EVERY SINGLE SHADE OF WRONG. AND HODGE’S CURSE NOT BEING A CURSE? UNACCEPTABLE!

6. Coffee or tea?
Well, I don’t drink coffee per se. I can’t handle the bitter flavour, so I drink what my mother calls “kiddie coffee” or mocha. Or flavoured lattes. And as for tea…well, I have recently discovered peppermint tea . And strawberry green tea. I guess I’m a haphazard drinker of both.

7. What is your favorite food?
Chocolate. Seriously. Anything with chocolate, and I’m sold. It’s why Easter is such a difficult time of year for me. Chocolate everywhere.

8. What is your favorite music genre?
Essentially I like music where the melody is still created by a person playing an instrument. Songs with guitar, drums, bass (an actually bass, not that stupid bass line in those stupid clubbing songs), and not-auto-tuned-to-the-shithouse vocals. This encompasses everyone from Michael Bublé to Escape the Fate. The only instrumental genres I won’t do are over-the-top screamo, thrash metal, and country. Otherwise, bring it on.

9. Who is your favorite author?
This is a tough one. I love Neil Gaiman simply because he is a total and complete genius. BUT I love Cassandra Clare because she writes completely actualised characters. Honestly, I’m pretty sure even the minor characters have three-dimensions. Like Simon Lewis’ mother, for instance.

10. What is your favorite holiday?
Christmas. I hate the lead-up to Christmas, don’t get me wrong. I am guaranteed to be broke for those 4-6 weeks before December 25. But the day itself? Family all together stuffing their faces and looking on with pride as someone unwraps their present? Beautiful. It doesn’t get much better than that. Unless you happen to be by the beach. Our Christmases in Australia can get ridiculously hot.

11. Where is your favorite place to read?
When I was working my arse off at work and uni last year, I was completely broke 95% of the time. In order to maintain my sanity I’d sometimes spend $5 on myself to buy a bath bomb from Lush, lock myself in the bathroom with a book and my water bottle and just lie there, letting the scents and warmth of the water melt away everything that was waiting for me on the other side of the door. Seriously, it is the most relaxing feeling in the world.

I was going through the list of the blogs I follow and I found that most of the blogs I follow have followers way above 200. I think one of them had 11,000+! So, these were the ones I found that had less than 200 and who I think definitely deserve some recognition:

TheFandom News
Seriously, this blog is for every fandom you could possibly belong to. Which is especially helpful when there are so many things happening in so many fandoms at the moment!

Doctor Who Cosplay
This site is dedicated to all of the amazing Doctor Who cosplayers there are in cyberspace. Some of them will blow you away. If you love Doctor Who, I insist you click this link!

britishaisles
Honest to God, I don’t understand how this blog doesn’t have more followers! It is about everything British. And the British get all of the best things! Seriously, if you love the UK, I insist you start following this blog immediately.

thebookboozer
So I know the rules state that there are to be no tag backs, but if I had gotten this nomination any other way, I would still have nominated this blog. This is your one-stop-shop for all of your YA and/or fantasy needs. 🙂

Steampunk Journal
I have had a fascination with everything steampunk since Cassandra Clare’s The Infernal Devices. If you need some steampunk awesomeness in your life, this is the blog for you.

Thanks again, guys! I promise to be better with my posts soon! And now, for the eleven questions for my nominees for the Liebster:

  1. How are you today?
  2. What was the last thing you obsessively Googled?
  3. Which book are you most excited for in 2014?
  4. What do you think of the current Hollywood trend of making fairytales more grown up? (e.g. Once Upon A Time, Grimm, Maleficent)
  5. What is your OTP?
  6. When was the last time you surprised yourself in an argument? (e.g. I got into a heated debate about the importance of proper spelling and grammar. I knew I cared, but not that much!)
  7. Seriously, how awesome is Tom Hiddleston?
  8. Your biggest book/movie/TV regret?
  9. DC v Marvel?
  10. What was the last thing you put off doing?
  11. Describe the view from your nearest window in one word.

Have fun playing!

About Bec Graham

Bec Graham, 24, was born on the wrong continent. Everything from her burns-like-paper skin tone to her inability to cope with the slightest hint of a hot day suggests she should have been born under the gloomy skies and mild sun of the UK. She hopes writing will get her to her rightful home one day. Failing that, she scans the skies for a spinning blue police box, hoping to catch a lift back to the motherland.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to And the winner is…

  1. geeki2805 says:

    Will Herondale! I love you for your answers. And yes, I am so disappointed with the movie adaption of City of Bones (though I own the DVD)!

    • Bec Graham says:

      Thanks so much! Yeah, Will Herondale has basically ruined me for other men. It is probably a problem but oh well. I just bought the Herondale family ring from here: http://www.hebeldesign.com/Family-Ring-Replica-Necklace-MINEC4.htm
      I can’t wait to get it! I don’t think I’ll ever take it off!
      And OMG…that movie. But, they did get Magnus right. He was Magnus all over!!!

      • geeki2805 says:

        10$ Nice! I love that. Hahaha, I guess Will Herondale and other book characters have ruined my love life 😀 I guess I fell in love with every guy in a good book and that makes a lot of them 😀
        Oh yeah, right. I guess Magnus was the only one I liked. Okay, Alec wasn’t that bad either, but I loved Magnus without pants

      • Bec Graham says:

        Oh yeah. I’ve fallen in love with Peeta and Dimitri and Adrian and Fred & George and Jace and Jamie….but Will will always be my #1 man haha I dunno…I felt like Alec was always a tad more delicate. Just in the way he was described I always felt like he was built like the guy who played Jace. BUT that scene where he throws Clary against the wall? He totally nailed it.

  2. Pingback: My most humble thanks | My Infernal Imagination

  3. Pingback: The Liebster Award | My Infernal Imagination

Leave a Reply

