#LoveMe – Why do this tag?

header-image-for-loveme

I was scrolling through my inbox, waiting for the next episode of Suits to load, when I saw an intriguing blog post by one of my favourite bloggers, Engie. It was titled “The #LoveMe Challenge” and I had to find out more.
Basically this tag is about 28 days of self-love; having to find positives about yourself when you’re used to finding the negatives. This is an incredibly important idea, and I feel like everyone should do at least a week’s worth of this tag.
Most everything we consume tells us that we aren’t good enough. Clothes don’t look as good on us as they do on models, makeup doesn’t exactly cover our blemishes, we can’t afford the fancy shoes.
A lot of the time the things we love also tell us we aren’t good enough. TV and film, obviously, but also books. How many books have you read where the hero or heroine was a bit overweight, or their skin wasn’t porcelain, where those flaws weren’t actually part of the plot?

As I make my way through Suits, I have the same thought multiple times per episode:

I couldn’t wear that.

The women in this show wear stunning clothes that look amazing, but are also figure hugging and would not do my figure justice. However, instead of remembering that we all come in different shapes and sizes, I feel like a lesser woman because I can’t look like Meghan Markle in a pencil skirt.

So I want to do this challenge. I want to challenge myself to love myself. Because:

tumblr_mved1ikomo1qlvwnco1_r1_400

Can I get an Amen?

This brings me to the first post for the #LoveMe challenge:

  1. Why are you doing #LoveMe?
  2. A photo of you
  3. A word that describes you
  4. A person who loves you
  5. A note to the past you
  6. A note to the future you
  7. One thing that’s just for you
  8. Share a scar
  9. Share something beautiful
  10. Share a secret
  11. Share a smile
  12. Share a flaw
  13. Share a quote
  14. Share a fear you overcame
  15. Something you have done right
  16. Something you like about yourself 
  17. Something that feeds your soul
  18. Something that feeds your brain
  19. Something you feel strongly about
  20. Something you love to wear
  21. Something you are proud of
  22. What makes you unique?
  23. What is your best feature?
  24. What makes you happy?
  25. What makes you laugh?
  26. What makes you feel beautiful?
  27. What have you accepted about yourself?
  28. What have you learned from doing #LoveMe these past twenty-eight days?

The reason that I want to do this challenge is because I’ve been feeling incredibly negative about myself lately. I’ve always been a bit overweight (voluptuous, I believe, is the word), but lately I’ve been feeling a little curvier than I would like. I try and eat right and I do go to the gym, but I still don’t overly like what I see in the mirror.

I do know that there are more important things than looks, particularly when I am fairly fit and healthy, but it still gets to me. Especially coupled with the fact that my skin is less than ideal.

I believe I am a good person, and I have beautiful friends and family who love me for me, so I kind of want to be able to do the same thing.

I hope some of you will join me on this quest to better appreciate ourselves. Because we all deserve love. And the best place to start if with yourself.

So, what do you say? Will you join me?

About Bec Graham

Bec Graham, 24, was born on the wrong continent. Everything from her burns-like-paper skin tone to her inability to cope with the slightest hint of a hot day suggests she should have been born under the gloomy skies and mild sun of the UK. She hopes writing will get her to her rightful home one day. Failing that, she scans the skies for a spinning blue police box, hoping to catch a lift back to the motherland.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

