My bookish identity

You guys are in for a treat over the next few posts. During the second half of semester, when my brain was so fried by Stats and Social & Organisational Psych that I dreamed  about my study notes, I only had time to read subject headers in my inbox. What this means is that I have a lot of awesome blogging tags in my drafts folder, saved from when I didn’t have the brain space to actually complete them. And now uni’s over…well, like I said, you guys are in for a treat.

Today’s wonderful tag is one that I found on The  Bookish Universe. This is all about who I would be if I lived in some of my favourite books. So, without any further ado, I give you:

My Bookish Identity…

Which dystopian/fantastical world would you live in?
This is an easy one. The Shadowhunter universe created by Cassandra Clare. Not only do you get basically every mythological creature ever, plus some super badass warrior angel descendants, but tattoos are mandatory AND basically give you superpowers (well, superpower-adjacent). You don’t even want to know what I paid for my last tattoo, and that definitely didn’t come with the ability to see fairies playing in my local park.

Who would your partner be?
OK, so I just finished reading The Hunger Games so my initial reaction is to say Peeta Mellark because, duh. But really? There is only one answer: Will Herondale. This is, of course, in a universe without Tessa. Because I would not keep that man from Tessa. I don’t know if that would even be possible.

Who would your godly mother/father be? [Percy Jackson]
Athena. Definitely. When I was younger, I’m talking ten years old,  I used to check out this one book about the twelve gods and goddesses of Mt Olympus. Of course, I now know that there are waaayyyy more than twelve (duh, right?), but when I was ten I used to love the stories. Plus, the pictures were captivating. Artemis was my favourite at the time (which is why I picked up Artemis Fowl in the first place), but as I got older, I found Athena to be the more interesting. Goddess of intellect and art? A fierce warrior who only ever fought to defend? And she was able to wield Zeus’ thunderbolts? Yep. Definitely Athena.

Would you be a downworlder or nephilim? [The Mortal Instruments]
Well, that depends. Are we talking  during Will Herondale’s time, where the majority of nephilim were bigoted pricks (except for those in of the London Institute)? Or are we talking post City of Glass period, where the nephilim were trying to make a big change in how they deal with downworlders; giving them Council seats, seeking their advice, and accepting a reformed vampire into the ranks of the Shadowhunter Academy?
I think I’d choose downworlder, but post CoG. I always felt like the downworlders had a bit more freedom than the nephilim. Weird, right? But Magnus always got to do his own thing, and so did Tessa. Sure they had pretty strict guidelines, but comparing their upbringing to that of the Lightwoods or Jace, I feel like there was a lot more leeway into what Magnus and Tessa could do with their lives. If you were nephilim, there was always a chance that if you screwed up too badly, the Clave would take your runes. But no matter how badly a downworlder screwed up, no one could take away who they were.
I could get into a whole thing about this, but I’m going to stop now.

What house would you be in? [Harry Potter]
Hufflepuff. I always felt like Hufflepuffs were the kindest, most open-minded of the Hogwarts students. How did the Sorting Hat’s song go?

Said Hufflepuff, “I’ll teach the lot and treat them just the same.”

Cunning, intelligence, and bravery are all wonderful qualities to have. But I always felt that kindness and loyalty were worth more in a pinch. Like Cedric helping Harry in the Triwizard. Or Professor Sprout always praising Neville even though he was from a different house. Hufflepuffs were always severely underrated and, unfortunately, underrepresented. But I loved them anyway.

What faction would you be in? [Divergent]
Much in the same way, I like to think that I’d be in the Amity faction. Sure everyone wants to be Dauntless, but Amity always try and make people feel better. I mean, there was that whole thing with knocking people out and locking them up if they got a teensy bit upset, which was super uncool, but for the most part I like the idea of people always trying to help people to feel good. It’s nice.

What would be your daemon? [His Dark Materials]
Firstly, I just want to say how glad I am that His Dark Materials made it in here. I loved this trilogy! So thank you, shadowy blogging tag creator, for including it.
I suppose my daemon would be a corgi. An intelligent dog who would snuggle up with me while I was reading or feeling lonely, but who also was bred as a sheepdog and so could get vicious if the need arose.
Basically, I love dogs and would love to always have one around. But corgis are also inherently British, feeding my anglophilia, and also incredibly adorable. So it’s really a win-win.

So, what do you guys think of my bookish life? And what would yours be? I really want to know!

 

About Bec Graham

Bec Graham, 24, was born on the wrong continent. Everything from her burns-like-paper skin tone to her inability to cope with the slightest hint of a hot day suggests she should have been born under the gloomy skies and mild sun of the UK. She hopes writing will get her to her rightful home one day. Failing that, she scans the skies for a spinning blue police box, hoping to catch a lift back to the motherland.
This entry was posted in Extorting Bibliophilia, Musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My bookish identity

  1. First, I love this tag and I will have to remember to do it in the future. Second, are you sure we aren’t the same person? Haha Will Herondale. Swoooooooooon.

    • Bec Graham says:

      Fairly sure…
      But there could be a reverse Orphan Black thing going on where we look different but we’re actually identical in every other way 😛
      Ahhh, Will Herondale. He’s just amazing

Leave a Reply

