Fangirl in the Real World

Last night, I dreamed of a parallel universe. I dreamed that I met the incredible Tom Hiddleston after the Brisbane stretch of Thor: Ragnarok wrapped. Got the selfie and made him laugh by pulling out my copy of The Gospel of Loki by Joanne M. Harris and having him sign it. And then walked away as he moved onto the next fan, glowing with the knowledge that I had been in the presence of true greatness.

Unfortunately, I had to wake up.

Screenshot_2016-08-26-17-02-48-1

Chris Hemsworth with the QPS, in the hoodie that conjured a whole lot of revenue for the Australian mental health charity, Livin. Picture from the QPS Facebook page.

See, I live in Brisbane. And all this week I have had my newsfeed blow up with pictures of the golden Asgardian trio: Chris Hemsworth, Anthony Hopkins, and Tom Hiddleston. It’s been incredible. Seeing pictures of celebrities I admire in among things I see everyday, like the Lady Cilento, and the front cover of the Courier Mail. I saw the letter that was sent out to the local businesses that would be affected by filming and recognised the street names. It’s been surreal.

 

Then, of course, there were the photos of my friends who met the golden trio. It was indeed true that Hemsworth bought pizza for the fans who had waited to see them. I walked past the Domino’s that most likely supplied the pizza as well! These photos stung.  A lot.

I am a huge Tom Hiddleston fan, as many of my friends can attest. For example, I saw Crimson Peak, despite being barely able to tolerate the suspense and horror of a Weeping Angels episode of Doctor Who, simply because Tom Hiddleston was in it. And even some of you, depending on how long you’ve followed me, would have seen this post. I simply think Hiddleston is one of the most talented and genuinely nice guys in Hollywood. And in a world full of hate, Tom Hiddleston is the kind of celebrity we all need.

The thing is, though. I no longer live the semi-spontaneous life I lived a few years ago. If I

Screenshot_2016-08-26-17-03-15-1

Tom Hiddleston with the QPS after the final day of filming. That smile, though! Picture also from the QPS Facebook page

need a day off work, I have to ask for it two weeks in advance. I can’t just call in sick, because I need a doctor’s certificate. I also have uni responsibilities that I have to attend to. I am incredibly jealous of all of my friends who were able to be in the CBD, waiting for the Asgardians for hours on end. I wish, wholeheartedly, that I could have been there with them.

To be clear, I do not begrudge these guys their meeting Hiddleston or Hemsworth or Hopkins. I think it’s amazing. I just am now a permanent slight greenish colour with jealousy.

I did make it to the set, just the once. It was yesterday, the last day of filming. The boyfriend and I managed to get to the set at about 5 o’clock. We walked past the make-up trailer, where we saw pictures of Hiddleston and Hemsworth tacked to the wall for reference. We saw the catering tent and a-frames (A-Frames?) emblazoned with the words ‘Asgardian Productions’. We also saw filming equipment, the camera man, and saw how those massive filming lights get moved (a sort of cherry-picker). We were there in the crowd, which was an experience in and of itself.

But we had to leave. My midsemester exam for statistics closed the following morning at 10am. And because I had to work, I was restricted to doing my exam outside of work hours.

Later that night, when I crawled into bed at around midnight, I checked FB. From what I could see, filming wrapped at around 8.30-9pm and that was when the one and only Tom Hiddleston emerged, de-Loki’d, and took photos with and gave autographs to the crowd.

There is no way I could have been there.

This has probably been a bit of a whingy post, and I apologise. The reason this post is going online and not in my journal – yes, I have one – is because I bet there are many of you out there in the same boat. Your favourite celebrities have been in your city, and you’ve known exactly where they are, but because of the set-in-stone responsibilities of life, you’ve missed out.

So let’s commiserate together!

Screenshot_2016-08-26-17-15-03-1

This is quite possibly my favourite photo of the Thor:Ragnarok campaign, for lack of a better word. These guys went to the Lady Cilento hospital in Brisbane and spent time with the kids, and brought Mjolnir! An actual Hollywood prop. And they’re both still in costume. Well, their super-powered civvies. This just completely blew my mind. 

 

 

About Bec Graham

Bec Graham, 24, was born on the wrong continent. Everything from her burns-like-paper skin tone to her inability to cope with the slightest hint of a hot day suggests she should have been born under the gloomy skies and mild sun of the UK. She hopes writing will get her to her rightful home one day. Failing that, she scans the skies for a spinning blue police box, hoping to catch a lift back to the motherland.
This entry was posted in My Fangirl Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fangirl in the Real World

  1. Deborah says:

    Okay… so this is me sounding like an idiot… but I didn’t realise the actor with the long dark hair was Hiddleston. I mean, I know TH and liked him in The Night Manager but is it really him with the dark hair? Like really?

  2. Mahima says:

    Yes I can relate to this! I watched Legend recently and spotted my building. I live in an apartment building and one of the actors that I really admire is Colin Morgan because of his role in the tv show Merlin. Colin Morgan, Tom Hardy and Emily Browning (series of unfortunate events girl) were all a stone’s throw away from me! One scene had them in a neighbouring flat on the same floor and just seeing that in the film had me gutted. I can’t believe I missed meeting Colin Morgan! At the time the filming was happening they kept everything quite minimum in terms of publicity. There had been quite a bit of filming around my area two years ago so I didn’t even know what productions the cameras were there for. On one instance I saw two trailers parked next to the chemist’s, but I still have no idea whether they were for the actors in Legend or not. Bummer.

Leave a Reply

