Day 7: 30 Day Writing Challenge

screenshot_2016-05-07-06-13-17-1.png

In 250 words or less, write dialogue with no tags

The reason that I’ve gone AWOL for the past however long is that I am undergoing the massive undertaking that is the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon. This series is everything. Almost literally. Historical. Political. Mystery. Fantasy. Romance. But, at its heart, Outlander is about its characters. And what makes characters sparkle? Dialogue. I just read an incredible bit of dialogue in which, not only was exposition explored, but the story moved forward, and we got a sense of what the characters were doing as they were talking without having to be told. It was gorgeous. Absolutely gorgeous. So, given that this particular challenge is to write dialogue without tags, I’m going to try and draw on Gabaldon’s genius for this one. Let’s see how I go, hey?

“So?”
“So what?”
“Oh, shut up, you know what. How was it?”
“Well, I mean, it wasn’t the best cup of coffee I’ve ever had, but…”
“I am this close to punching you in the face.”
“What? I know this is your favourite place, but come on. That place on campus is way better. Ow!”
“That was a warning shot. Next one will be your nose, not your shoulder. Busted cartilage will be everywhere.”
“Fine! Bloody hell. It was great.”
“And…?”
“And what? Is there no such thing as privacy anymore? It was great. End of story.”
“Nu-uh, no way. You do not get off that easy. I have sat in this seat for the past however long and listened to you fantasise about this guy. Now that you finally go on a date with him, all I get is “it was great”?!”
“What do you want from me?”
“Details! Jesus! Did he pick you up? Dinner? Dancing? Bungee jumping? Grand larceny? Don’t you sigh at me.”
“No felonies.”
“That was no idle threat, you know. I will punch you in the face.”
“It was fantastic, alright? Perfection. Best night ever. But can I please keep it to myself just a little while longer? I just…please? I’ll tell you soon, I promise.”
“Damned straight, you promise. But just tell me one thing.”
“…What?”
“What did you wear?”

Final word count: 227

Not sure if I did as well as Gabaldon. But I think I went OK. Onto the next challenge!

About Bec Graham

Bec Graham, 24, was born on the wrong continent. Everything from her burns-like-paper skin tone to her inability to cope with the slightest hint of a hot day suggests she should have been born under the gloomy skies and mild sun of the UK. She hopes writing will get her to her rightful home one day. Failing that, she scans the skies for a spinning blue police box, hoping to catch a lift back to the motherland.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

