I’m back!

image

So, between one thing and another, I’ve gotten sick of not writing. I miss it. But I could never think of anything to write about. I’m one of those lame writers who can’t write without inspiration. Some people can write for days. I have to wait until the mood strikes me. It’s annoying.
Anyway, I found the above 30 Day Challenge on Facebook the other day, and seeing as I’m not even halfway through the Outlander series (the third book, Voyager, is over 1000 pages. I’m nearly finished!), I thought that this challenge would be the perfect solution.
I wrote this miniature piece the other day, inspired by watching people dancing at a nightclub here in Brisbane. Ever wondered what people think about as they dance? Well, that’s where this came from. And there was no home for it…until now.

In 250 words or less, write a love scene without “eyes” or “gaze”

I danced with you last night, under the strobing fluorescents and to the thumping bass. I felt your hands gripping my hips and your breath hot on my neck. I moved to your movements; the awkward shuffling of someone who has no rhythm but feels compelled to move anyway. It was exhilarating, dancing with you like that. Feeling your warmth, and your strength, pressed against my back. I pulled my hair aside, anxious to feel your lips on the nape of my neck. And I almost felt your teeth nip at the sensitive skin you found there.

I laughed. I was giddy with you. Your presence. Your heartbeat was as physical to me as the bass pumping through my body. When I turned to face you, your hands slipped to pull me tight against you. I raised my head to see you. To see the glint of the coloured lights reflected back at me.

You weren’t there. I’d forgotten. You were at home. The tequila had blurred fantasy with reality. I felt a pang of loss. The kind of loss that comes after waking from a beautiful dream. I looked around at the friends surrounding me, losing myself once again in the music. But every so often I thought I felt you, just behind me, following my rhythm. And I’d smile.

Final word count: 221

I’m not sure if that counted as a love scene, but I felt like it fits. I hope you liked it! If not, well, I have 29 more chances to get it right!

About Bec Graham

Bec Graham, 24, was born on the wrong continent. Everything from her burns-like-paper skin tone to her inability to cope with the slightest hint of a hot day suggests she should have been born under the gloomy skies and mild sun of the UK. She hopes writing will get her to her rightful home one day. Failing that, she scans the skies for a spinning blue police box, hoping to catch a lift back to the motherland.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m back!

  1. Love it Bec! I love the “I was giddy with you” line!

Leave a Reply

