The Newest Additions to the Family

ttt

In an effort to actually uphold one of my New Year’s Resolutions, I am going to stay on top of the Top Ten Tuesday blog over on The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s list is all about the newest books added to your TBR pile. Surprisingly, there were only two books that wouldn’t fit on this list (I thought there were at least ten more). I did, admittedly, cheat, by having series listed instead of books, but they all count as one book, right? I mean, really. Anyways, here goes nothing!

  1. Choose Your Own Autobiography by Neil Patrick Harris
    When I first saw this novel in Dymocks, I got way too excited. Not only is this the life story of a man whom I am deeply curious about, but it is a choose-your-own-adventure autobiography. To my knowledge, this has never been done before. I love the idea, I think it is beautiful and unique and so unbelievably bold. So today, when I essentially said “screw you universe, I’m buying something frivolous!”, I bought this book. I’ve wanted it for ages and now, it’s mine. Mwa ha ha.
  2. The Outlander Series by Diana Gabaldon
    I’ve added the whole series to my TBR because it has been far too long since I’ve read it. And seeing as how there’s a TV show based on the books now, I need to reacquaint myself with the story. Besides, the latest book came out over a year ago and I still haven’t read it. It’s a travesty!
  3. Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Abertalli
    A few months ago, I attended a YA book bloggers event at the Brisbane City Library and the presenter started talking about this book. I was intrigued by the story (and by the fact that the author has the coolest name ever #becky4life), but I was also intrigued by the description on the front cover: “the love child of Rainbow Rowell and  John Green”. So, naturally, when my relatives gave me some Christmas money, I bought this.
  4. Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan
    At the same blogging event that I mentioned above, I won this book. A signed copy of the book, no less. Rick Riordan, for those of you who don’t know, wrote Percy Jackson. Which I have not read. I love YA. I love Greek mythology, so I am not too sure why I haven’t tried it yet. I think, if I like this book, I will give Percy Jackson a go. We’ll see what happens.
  5. Every Move by Ellie Marney
    I cannot believe I haven’t read this yet! I love the Every series! With characters based on Sherlock Holmes and the scorching teen love affair and the sheer Aussieness of it, I really can’t believe that it has been 3/4 of a year since this book came out and I still haven’t found out what happens to Mycroft and Watts! Ahh!
  6. Fall by Candice Fox
    My mum had a book credit that she was never going to use, so she gave it to me. I had lost all hope of finding anything when, as I was just about to leave the book store, I saw Fall. The next Candice Fox book? For real? I didn’t even think. I just grabbed it and raced to the counter. It may have been the fastest that I have ever bought a book.
  7. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer
    I have had Cinder on my shelf for an embarrassingly long time. And I really want to read it. But I really want to read a lot of things, so this series keeps getting pushed to the wayside for other, standalone, novels. Buying all of the books in a series is a serious  commitment. And I have had too many book “flings” on my shelves for me to settle down with a new series.
  8. All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
    When I bought Cinder, all those embarrassing months ago, I was also tossing up as to whether I would  buy All The Bright Places. This book, being about mental health, was always going to end up on my shelf. But it was after my first day of my Youth Mental Health First Aid course that I actually bought this novel. The lady in charge of the course advised us to do something a little bit different for ourselves in order to unwind after the challenging material we’d been going over. Because I almost always deny myself the books I want (if I bought every book I actually wanted, this list would have to be about 5 times as long), I decided that buying a book about mental health issues would fulfil the need to do something different and also assuage my uni student mentality of “but you don’t need another book”.
  9. The Mistborn Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson
    This series was a present from my wonderful boyfriend. We’re both really into Sanderson’s Reckoners series and so, naturally, we started talking about Sanderson’s other works. I mentioned that I hadn’t read anything else by Sanderson and next minute, I had Mistborn in my hands. I really hope I have enough time before uni starts to actually read this series!
  10. If You Feel Too Much by Jamie Tworkowski
    This is another book that’s been on my shelf for a shocking amount of time. I actually had this book ordered so that I could have it the moment it arrived in Australia. And yet, it has been on my shelf for nearly six months. It’s a book written by the founder of To Write Love On Her Arms, a mental health awareness charity over in the US. Buying this book not only sheds light on mental health, but the act of buying it actually gave money to To Write Love On Her Arms. So it was a win/win really.

 

 

What about you guys? What are the latest books that are on your TBR pile? Have you read any of these ones? Let me know!

Update:
I was just admiring the beginning of my Avenger Pop! collection and the outstanding job they’re doing protecting my books, when I realised that there was a very important book that I forgot to mention:

13101761Bitter Greens by Kate Forsyth
I read The Beast’s Garden not too long ago and fell in love with Forsyth’s story telling. She is a genius. So I looked up more of her books and found Bitter Greens. It is a story about the evolution of the Rapunzel fairytales. As a lover of fairytales and historical fiction, and of Kate Forsyth, I needed to have this book in my life. But I wanted a particular cover. In fact, the one pictured here. The boyfriend and I were shopping one day and I found Bitter Greens in that exact cover! But alas, I had no money. I believe that Christmas shopping was still taking all of my disposable income. The boyfriend was buying himself one of Stephen King’s latest and as I went to put Bitter Greens back on the shelf, he snatched it out of my hands and took it to the counter. There was no talking him out of it. So Bitter Greens is now sitting on my shelf.
(The best kind of partner is one who aids you in your bibliophilia, is it not?)

 

About Bec Graham

Bec Graham, 24, was born on the wrong continent. Everything from her burns-like-paper skin tone to her inability to cope with the slightest hint of a hot day suggests she should have been born under the gloomy skies and mild sun of the UK. She hopes writing will get her to her rightful home one day. Failing that, she scans the skies for a spinning blue police box, hoping to catch a lift back to the motherland.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Newest Additions to the Family

  1. I just finished All the Bright Places recently and it was awesome! I hope you enjoy it as well. It seems to have split people’s opinions about whether it romanticises mental health and makes it a quirky characteristic. I didn’t think that, but can understand where some people are coming from.

Leave a Reply

