It’s that time again…

…time to do my New Year’s Resolutions.  And since this post kind of fulfils one of mine, I thought why not start here? I haven’t done one of these kinds of blog posts for some time. I really need to work on that. If you want to take part, this blog post was inspired by The Broke and The Bookish’s Top Ten Tuesday lists. Click here to get involved!

  1. BLOG MORE
    I didn’t blog as much as I should have in 2015. Neither did I keep up with my wonderful followers as well as I should have. I was so much better at this in 2014. I could totally say that I was better at blogging in 2014 because I was in a strange city and didn’t know many people, but that would be a cop out. Basically, since Netflix became a thing, I let my blog fall by the wayside. That will not happen this year. I hope. I really want to do more of these types of blogs. Especially when I end up taking weeks to read the one book and my blog posts become few and far between. (I am STILL READING Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell. It is over 1000 pages long, but I knocked out the Chaos Walking trilogy in 10 days and collectively that series is over 1500 pages!
  2. Stop buying new books…
    …at least until I’ve read all of the new ones on my bookshelf. There are at least a dozen books on my bookshelf that I have not read yet. And yet every time I go into a bookshop, there are at least a dozen more I want to buy *coughFeliciaDay’sautobiographycough*. I really need to read the books I have, though, before buying more. And hey, maybe that will mean that I can finally buy my third bookshelf. That I’ve needed for months.
  3. Write more
    This isn’t the same as blogging. I like to think of myself as a writer, but because of a stressful year filled with cover letters I’ve written for jobs that I never got, I had absolutely no mojo left to write anything creative. I need to set aside a few hours a week (maybe one hour a week to start with?) to get some writing done. I miss it. So much. But I am one of those writers who believes in a muse. And, unfortunately, I haven’t been visited by any ancient Greek women named Calliope, Clio, Erato, Euterpe, Melpomene, Polymnia, Terpsichore, Thalia, or Urania. But I’m hoping that if I get into the habit of writing, which is the better way to write anyway, that I won’t keep waiting for a mythological muse. I can be my own!
  4. Read more
    This comes back to the whole Netflix thing. There are a lot of instance where I could be reading, but instead I’m watching TV. I love me some TV, but instead of watching re-runs, I could be reading one of the many books that I’ve bought and haven’t read yet. So there’s that.
  5. REread more
    This is something I’d been meaning to do all of 2015 and never got around to doing. I wanted to reread The Infernal Devices, Outlander, Hunger Games, Harry Potter, but I never got to it. Too many new books. And as much as I love new books, I want to revisit my old friends too. So that’s why, once I finish Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell  Engines of War, I am going back an rereading Outlander I can finally read the newest in the series! I am pretty excited to visit Jamie and Claire again. actually! And then, once I’ve read the series, I think I’ll start the TV show again. Because why not?

I know that this list is supposed to be for ten New Year’s Resolutions but I don’t have that many. I started eating better in November 2015 and actually dropped 6 kilos before the festive season. And I’ve started doing that again, because it’s become a habit. If I say “eating healthier” is a 2016 New Year’s Resolution, I probably won’t do it.

What about you guys? Any bookish resolutions? Non-bookish resolutions? Let me know! And welcome to 2016!!

About Bec Graham

Bec Graham, 24, was born on the wrong continent. Everything from her burns-like-paper skin tone to her inability to cope with the slightest hint of a hot day suggests she should have been born under the gloomy skies and mild sun of the UK. She hopes writing will get her to her rightful home one day. Failing that, she scans the skies for a spinning blue police box, hoping to catch a lift back to the motherland.
This entry was posted in Extorting Bibliophilia, Musings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s that time again…

  1. moosha23 says:

    I LOVE rereading. It’s like guaranteed entertainment with a few fun surprises thrown in. You don’t have to “chance it” with a novel anymore (huzzah!).
    Also, you mentioned having a muse – how does that work? Is this the person who supplies you with eternal inspiration? OOH, IT SOUNDS SO INTRIGUING.

    • Bec Graham says:

      I know! Rereading is kind of like cleaning your room: completely familiar until you start opening boxes and find all this stuff you forget you had!
      Annd yeah, the Greeks believed you could kind of bribe the muses into helping you. But as for now…I usually can’t write unless I have an idea or I’m in a very particular mood. It’s kind of limiting 😦

  2. It seems some of our bookish wishes for 2016 overlap, especially the less book buying one. Good luck with your goals. 🙂

Leave a Reply

