#MyLifeInBooks

So, as you may have noticed, I hardly ever do book tags anymore. I’m not entirely sure why I stopped. I just realised the other day that I just stopped doing these tag things.
Anyway, I found this tag on Blogs-of-a-Bookaholic, and thought it sounded fun! So let’s give this a go.

Find a book for each of your initials.

13101761

91mfgfd3hol-_sl1500_

J

6298982-m

G

So I am so unbelievably grateful that my books are actually in shelves now! This would have been a lot harder if I hadn’t been able to scan my shelves.
Especially for “J”. I could NOT think of anything that wasn’t “Juliet”. Thank God for shelving units!

Count your age along your bookshelf – which book is it?

616nnvhj-hl

Oh, Jem. You lovely, lovely man. I seriously cannot believe that these covers are being redone. Like, I have never seen covers more beautiful than these ones.
I really want to reread this series. Maybe 2016 will be the year of rereading? Who knows.

Pick a book set in your city/state/country.

51rbmp8dhcl-_sx311_bo1204203200_

Coming from Brisbane, I don’t think there are many books actually set in this town. City, rather. So I had to Google this one. I feel like a bit of a failure as an Australian, seeing as I have never read Nick Earls. But maybe I should give him a go? I’ve heard good things. Anyone have any Nick Earls recommendations?

Pick a book that represents a destination you would like to travel to.

7664275

As you can probably guess from the cover, Tuscan Rose is set in Tuscany. Tuscany is the exact region in Italy that I want to visit.  So this one was kind of a no-brainer. Besides, I could find a book set in London unbelievably easily. This was more of a challenge.

 

Pick a book that’s your favourite colour.

9781922079770

For years I told people that my favourite colour is blue. But then, looking in my wardrobe, and at the colour I keep dying my hair, I think the actual answer is red. This is the most purely red book cover that I could think of, so I chose this one. Besides, this book was awesome. The sequel was terrible, but this book was awesome. You can totally check my review here.

Which book do you have the fondest memories of?

CP2_cover

 

Not only did this book tie things up nicely for my absolute favourite character of all time, but I spent a pleasant evening glued to its pages in my lounge room for about 4 hours. I settled in to read for a little while and next minute, it was four hours later and I’d actually finished the book.

Which book did you have the most difficult reading?

9780141037431

Lolita was a beautifully written book with language so lyrical it would make you weep. BUT this book is about a paedophile. From the POV of the paedophile. You’d get swept up in the language and then be slammed into the reality of this story and feel physically ill. I almost put the book down at one point. I don’t think any book has challenged my morals as much as this one has.

Which book in your TBR pile will give you the biggest sense of accomplishment when you finish it?

Outlander_Wiki_Written-In-My-Own-Heart's-Blood_Cover_Final_Portal_001

I have been meaning to read this book for over a year. So not only will finishing this mean that I have finally, you know, finished it. But it will mean that I have finished the entire series to date. Because whenever I read the latest book in a series, I have to reread the entire series beforehand. And with each of the Outlander books weighing in at over 700 pages each, this will be a feat in and of itself. I start reading Outlander again on January 1.

And so this is my life in books. It’s lovely, isn’t it? Feel free to tackle this tag if you like. I mean, you’re supposed to tag people in it and be tagged in return, but I say, if you wanna do this tag, just copy and paste!

Have fun, guys!

 

About Bec Graham

Bec Graham, 24, was born on the wrong continent. Everything from her burns-like-paper skin tone to her inability to cope with the slightest hint of a hot day suggests she should have been born under the gloomy skies and mild sun of the UK. She hopes writing will get her to her rightful home one day. Failing that, she scans the skies for a spinning blue police box, hoping to catch a lift back to the motherland.
This entry was posted in Extorting Bibliophilia, Musings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #MyLifeInBooks

  1. Holly says:

    I’ve never read Lolita, but you’ve put my hesitation precisely into words. I’m afraid that the content will be too unsettling for me, no matter how beautiful the writing is.

    • Bec Graham says:

      Best thing to do is to just dive in. And if it gets too much, put it down. It is such a challenging book. And feeling sick while reading is never pleasant. But may’s well give it a go! 🙂

  2. You know, I almost tagged you in this and then I thought that you don’t often do tags so I didn’t. So I’m really happy to see you decided to do it anyway! Love that we both have Jonathan Strange on our list. 🙂

    • Bec Graham says:

      I love how things work out! Thank you for thinking of me anyway. 😊
      And I have been meaning to read Jonathan Strange for ages! Hopefully I get to it sometime in the next six months!!

Leave a Reply

