“Mitosis” by Brandon Sanderson (Reckoners #1.5)

image

Mitosis was a split decision purchase. I was halfway through Steelheart, when I decided to see what else Sanderson had written. It was then, when I was scrolling through GoodReads, that I found that Steelheart was the beginning of a series, and not the standalone that I had thought it to be. And so I started looking for the rest of the books. I found Firefight at my local Dymocks, but Mitosis had to be ordered online. Which it was, courtesy of my lovely boyfriend.
I finished Firefight this afternoon. And it took me a further 45 minutes to finish Mitosis.

I can’t really say much about this book that I haven’t said about the other two instalments in The Reckoners saga. Especially since the story is only 44 pages long. All of the storytelling elements are still on point, however: the characters, the setting, the humour, the themes. In fact, this story could have easily been a prologue to Firefight as opposed to a completely separate publication. This novella is all about bringing down Mitosis, an Epic who can clone himself. And that is it. There is no deeper storyline here. I feel as though Sanderson wrote this story, couldn’t find a place for it in the main series and so decided to publish it as sampler before the release of Firefight.

This book is non-essential to the main canon of Sanderson’s post-Calamity (the power surge that created the Epics) world. However, it is a nice glimpse into how the Reckoners acted in Newcago after they [SPOILER FOR STEELHEARTkilled Steelheart and freed the city from his tyranny.

There really isn’t anything I can say that wasn’t said in either of my other two reviews, so all I will say is that if you find yourself absolutely in love with this world of Epics and Reckoners and want every skerrick of it that you can get your hands on, pick up this book. If you only kind of like the series, leave Mitosis alone. This novella is for the diehard fans. So if you don’t class yourself as one of those, leave Mitosis in the store.

★★★★

P.S. Mitosis comes with illustrated profiles of the three main Epics in Firefight. Which is really cool. But, again, only a necessity if you are completely head over heels for this series.

P.P.S. What would a Reckoners review be without a classic David Charleston metaphor?

“It’s okay. I’m a rhinoceros astronaut.”
She was silent a moment. “Oh, sparks. You’re going delusional.”
“No, no. I mean, I’m surprising. I’ll surprise him. What’s the most surprising  thing you can think of? Bet it’s a rhinoceros astronaut.”

About Bec Graham

Bec Graham, 24, was born on the wrong continent. Everything from her burns-like-paper skin tone to her inability to cope with the slightest hint of a hot day suggests she should have been born under the gloomy skies and mild sun of the UK. She hopes writing will get her to her rightful home one day. Failing that, she scans the skies for a spinning blue police box, hoping to catch a lift back to the motherland.
This entry was posted in Extorting Bibliophilia and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

