Sweet Teeth

Here’s the thing: I would be skinny as a rake, if I weren’t so obsessed with sweet foods. I often joke that I don’t have a sweet tooth so much as a sweet set of teeth. Even though, I can walk past lollies and jellybeans and honeycomb quite easily. And sometimes I’m just not in the mood for ice cream. But everything else? I can’t say no! I am a sugar addict.

(Which, by the way, is a real thing. There’ve been studies done. Sugar stimulates the same part of the brain that lights up when addicts ingest their chosen substance. The only way to kick sugar completely is to cut it out. And you do actually go through withdrawals! Sugar is serious business. Pity it tastes so good).

image

Lindt Melting Middle Muffins .These were so good, I definitely considered making them again the next day.

I love to bake as well. I currently subscribe to two of the most addictive baking blogs: Scarletscorchdroppers and eASYbAKED. Baking is incredibly different from cooking. You have to cook. Dinner, breakfast, lunch (sometimes). But baking is a bonus. Baking puts smiles on people’s faces and can cheer you up after a horrible day. Or just give you something fun to do when you’re bored.

For example: the day before Valentine’s Day I made Scarletscorchdroppers Lindt Melting Middle Muffins for my dad and his wife because they weren’t going to be able to be together on the actual day.

And, seeing as it was my first Valentine’s Day alone in a few years, I made eASYbAKED’s Frog Prince Oreos for myself. Just because of the whole “you have to

image

Frog Prince Oreos . Yes, these are chocolate biscuits covered in coloured white chocolate with m&ms for the facial features. I regret nothing!

kiss a lot of frogs before meeting your prince” thing. Plus, chocolate and Oreos on V Day? Yes, please! Granted, mine weren’t as pretty as the originals, but I was pretty proud of them!

My love of baking and all things sweet are continually getting in the way of my dream of dropping two dress sizes by the end of the year. I love exercising, but I love food. The best I can do is keep myself stable. Which is better than nothing, I suppose.

image

Coconut Brownie Cups. Next time I make these – and there will be a next time – I think I’ll make them mint brownie cups instead of coconut, just to see how that works.

I think that’s why I love baking blogs so much: I can look at all of the delectable recipes without actually ingesting the calories. It is so much more rewarding than you think. Because, once you’ve had one of the dozen or so cookies, muffins, cupcakes, or chocolate-covered-Oreos you’ve made you’re still stuck with the rest of them! If I were any good at maths, I’d calculate the exact quantities of ingredients so that everyone could have just one, and then there’d be none left. But, of course, I was given talents in English, not in maths. I have to make the whole bloody lot.
About a month ago, just to get baking out of my system, I made eASYbAKED’s Coconut Brownie Cups. I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with two dozen little morsels of chocolatey goodness. Thank God my dad took a few to work with him or I think I would have eaten the whole lot.

Obviously, my Daily Prompt for today is about all things sweet. But the question being asked is: what is my favourite dessert? What is the one dish that tops all of the rest?
Answer: I don’t have one! There are too many awesome desserts out there for me to pick just one!
“Fine,” you think, “tell me your favourite kind of dessert. What flavours are your favourites?”

I can’t answer that either! Oh, I do love peanut butter and chocolate. I love almost anything with chocolate (except honeycomb). But then there are churros, and lemon meringue, and all of the different flavours of gelato. Then there are days you want gourmet sweet, and days you want chemical sweet. Seriously, sometimes I just really crave a milkshake from Macca’s.

And here are just a few snaps from my sugary past. You should click on the pictures: you’ll see the business websites. You know you want to know more.

image

That right there is a chocolate raspberry “dome”. Behind that is an iced chocolate raspberry. Hiding behind that is a hot chocolate with cinnamon. Behind THAT is a salted caramel mousse. Courtesy of Koko Black in Canberra.

image

Your eyes are not deceiving you. That is an actual wall of rocky road at the Noosa Chocolate Factory outlet in the Brisbane CBD

image

These were actually a housewarming present for my sister when she moved into her new place, but I have eaten a few of these beautiful works of art from Brisbane’s Cupcake Parlour. They taste even better than they look.

About Bec Graham

Bec Graham, 24, was born on the wrong continent. Everything from her burns-like-paper skin tone to her inability to cope with the slightest hint of a hot day suggests she should have been born under the gloomy skies and mild sun of the UK. She hopes writing will get her to her rightful home one day. Failing that, she scans the skies for a spinning blue police box, hoping to catch a lift back to the motherland.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

