An A-Z of Being a Bookworm

I have been going on a bit of a blogging binge. I figure, being on holiday in between a writing degree and a psychology degree, I need to get as much blogging in as I can. I don’t know how much time I’ll get once uni starts. No, scratch that, once I move again. I’ll have to do all those really fun things like finding a job and unpacking.

Anyway, I found this A-Z on Speculating On SpecFic. It’s a fabulous blog that talks about all things YA and bookish. They actually were part of Aussie author, Ellie Marney’s, blog tour for her debut novel Every Breath. You can read my review of the novel here and Speculating On SpecFic’s interview with Marney here. Sorry, but I haven’t read a decent Aussie YA novel since Melina Marchetta. So I will plug that novel to death. (Also, if you don’t know who Marchetta is, go Google her. She is amazing. Looking For AlibrandiSaving Francesca? That was her work.)

Anyway, so, because I haven’t quite finished Dracula, and because I haven’t had any profound thoughts lately, I thought I would fill this questionnaire out. I haven’t seen a bookworm one before, so I thought I’d have some fun:

Author you’ve read the most books from:
That would definitely be Meg Cabot. She was my very first favourite author. So, naturally, I’ve read basically everything she ever wrote. I absolutely adored her novel Avalon High. It is, as you can imagine, about the King Arthur legend. It’s got a pretty cool little twist. But if you’ve seen the Disney movie, just follow that golden rule: never judge a book by its movie. Because I watched the trailer and was almost sick afterwards.

Best sequel ever:
My internet has been down for the last couple of days, so I have given this some serious thought and I honestly think it was Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins. I started that book one morning and didn’t get up until I read:
”Katniss, there is no District Twelve.” I was addicted. And the amazing movie just proves how good that book is. If the screenwriter refuses to change the original text then there must be something there, right?

Currently reading:
I am currently reading Dracula by Bram Stoker. I thought it would be a hard slog, like anything by Jane Austen or Frankenstein. But it’s thoroughly  enjoyable. Like Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s work. The only thing is, I wish I were reading this without any previous knowledge of vampires, like Stoker’s original audience. The book would be so much more suspenseful and terrifying if I didn’t know what the Count was.

Drink of choice while reading:
Hmmm…probably mocha. Hot mocha. Either at a café or the Nescafé ones you can make at home. Even if they are, what my mum calls, “kiddie coffee”.

E-reader or physical book:
If you’ve been following me for a while, the you know my stance on this matter. Physical books All. The. Way. Nothing will ever been the smell or the feel of a real book. That and some covers are embossed into the cardboard. Like the Infernal Devices trilogy. And if you sit there and try to tell me those beautiful covers are the same on a tiny little screen, I’ll book you into your own nice little padded cell.

Fictional character you probably would have dated in high school:
Will Herondale. Hands down. You know, if Tessa didn’t meet him first. Not even I could come between Will and Tessa.

Glad you gave this book a chance:
I’m trying to remember which books I’ve been sceptical about and I’m kind of coming up blank. But one that I grabbed off the shelf based on the title, and the awesome page borders, was Venom  by Fiona Paul. It was incredible. Definitely give this one a chance.

Hidden gem book:
I suppose this would be Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë. This was on my reading list for a class called Great Books last year. I had just attempted Great Expectations  and was pissed off when Pip decided his adopted father hadn’t done enough for him because he wanted to be a “gentleman” to impress that bitch Estella. So I wasn’t holding much hope for Wuthering Heights. But I loved it. It was one of the best classical novels I have ever read. Much, much better than Jane Austen. God, I hate Jane Austen.

Important moment in your reading life:
When I both read, and watched, The Perks of Being a WallflowerThe author of the book, Stephen Chbosky, directed the movie. And as I watched the movie, after reading the book of course, I noticed that the director made changes to his own work. That blew my mind and changed my perspective on the changes made in movies of my favourite books. As a dedicated fangirl this stopped a lot of pulled hair and punched movie theatre seats. I recommend this exercise to all of the fanboys and girls. Because if an author is OK making change to his own work, then who am I to judge the changes screenwriters make? Seriously: changed my life.

Just finished:
I just finished Ellie Marney’s Every Breath. I already plugged this at the beginning of this post, so I won’t do it again. So I’ll just say: READ THIS BOOK. And that’ll be the end of that.

Kinds of books you won’t read:
Straight-up romance. I love it when romance ties into the main storyline, especially in epic ways like in Outlander or in anything Cassandra Clare writes. But when that is the be-all and end-all of the story, I don’t like it. It feels like the author couldn’t be bothered giving the characters more substance.

Longest book you’ve read:
I think that was Ken Follett’s The Pillars of Earth. I stuck with it because my mum recommended it to me. The slowest first six hundred pages I have ever read. But the second six hundred? Pretty amazing. I was impressed. Especially because Follett made me care about the building of a cathedral. I know, right? How boring does that sound? But he did it. Now that’s skill.

Major book hangover because of:
Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare. At the end of that, when Tessa and Jem were engaged but Will had just figured out he wasn’t cursed and could love Tessa properly without any harm coming to her? I legitimately lost sleep. I was tossing and turning trying to figure out how Clare could make that OK. Thank God she did. Otherwise I think I may have had to kill her for what she put Will through.

Number of bookcases you own:
None, at the present time. I’m in the middle of moving from one state to another. So all of my beautiful books are packed away in plastic crates. It is so sad. I like my books on display, where they can breathe.

One book you have read multiple times:
Most of the books I own, I’ve read more than once. But the ones I read most were the Harry Potter series. I haven’t read them in a few years, though. So that definitely has to be rectified. Once I finish all my new books and re-read Bloodlines so that The Fiery Heart  makes sense. 

Preferred place to read:
In bed. I always feel like I’m luxuriating if I lie in bed and read all day. There’s really nothing so indulgent as to do that. Best feeling in the world.

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:
God, I don’t know. There are so many! I could probably pick out one such quote from each and every book I have ever read. But the one that gets me every time is Will’s love letter to Tessa. Because all my books are packed away, I’ll have to Google the quote to get it word for word. Forgive me if it’s not word perfect:

Tess, Tess, Tessa.
Was there ever a more beautiful sound than your name? To speak it aloud makes my heart ring like a bell. Strange to imagine that, isn’t it – a heart ringing – but when you touch me that is what it is like: as if my heart is ringing in my chest and the sound shivers down my veins and splinters my bones with joy.
Why have I written these words in this book? Because of you. You taught me to love this book where I had scorned it. When I read it for the second time, with an open mind and heart, I felt the most complete despair and envy of Sydney Carton. Yes, Sydney, for even if he had no hope that the woman he loved would love him, at least he could tell her of his love. At least he could do something to prove his passion, even if that thing was to die.
I would have chosen death for a chance to tell you the truth, Tessa, if I could have been assured that death would be my own. And that is why I envied Sydney, for he was free.
And now at last I am free, and I can finally tell you, without fear of danger to you, all that I feel in my heart.
You are not the last dream of my soul.
You are the first dream, the only dream I ever was unable to stop myself from dreaming. You are the first dream of my soul, and from that dream I hope will come all other dreams, a lifetime’s worth.

With hope at last,
Will Herondale

Reading regret:
DELIRIIUM BY LAUREN OLIVER!!!!! Do NOT, under any circumstance, start this series. It has the most incredible beginning but then Lauren Oliver decided she didn’t give a fuck and the books just deteriorated until what you’re left with is drivel. Worse than that, uncared for drivel. Because E.L. James and Stephenie Meyer might be the worst things that ever happened to literature but at least they loved their work. Oliver just gave up and slapped together a few hundred pages. I’m not getting worked up over this again. Read my review of the final instalment in this travesty Requiem  here.

Series you started and need to finish (all books are out in the series):
Well not all of the books are out, but there’s still one book in Bloodlines  I haven’t read yet. I ordered it online when there was an online sale, but there was a book in the order that had to be shipped from overseas. So now I have to wait for Adrian’s POV. It’s torture!

Three of your all-time favourite books:
Oh. My. God. Are you trying to kill me? Just three?! Out of every book I’ve ever read? How can I make this decision?
I could cheat and just say The Infernal Devices because I am in love with every single letter embedded in the pages of that trilogy, but that would just be wrong. So instead, I will three separate novels:

  • Clockwork Princess – Cassandra Clare.
    This book made me laugh, cry, and “nawww”. It is the perfect symphony of words. Best book you’ll ever read. And I honestly mean that.
  • The Book Thief – Markus Zusak
    A WWII book set in Germany, from the perspective of Death, and books are the things that hold everyone together. It is so original and beautiful and bittersweet and Zusak is Aussie! Perfection on paper.
  • Cloud Atlas – David Mitchell
    Probably the most genius book I have read in a long time. There are so many different chapters from different times and voices and characters and tie-ins and Mitchell makes each and every one of them realistic. Ignore the movie, read the book. It’s the best advice I can give you.

Unapologetic fangirl for:
Cassandra Clare. Basically everything she does is gold. I could go on and on about her command of characterisation. All of her characters are three-dimensional, even if they only have a few scenes or lines of dialogue. I want to write characters like her one day.

Very excited for this release more than all the others:
City of Heavenly Fire. The last in the Mortal Instruments cycle. I have been waiting for this book for way too long. May 27 can’t come fast enough. Even if the  description sounds so dark:

ΕRCHOMAI, SEBASTIAN HAD SAID.
I am coming.
Darkness returns to the Shadowhunter world. As their society falls apart around them, Clary, Jace, Simon and their friends must band together to fight the greatest evil the Nephilim have ever faced: Clary’s own brother. Nothing in the world can defeat him — must they journey to another world to find the chance? Lives will be lost, love sacrificed, and the whole world changed in the sixth and last installment of the Mortal Instruments series!

Worst bookish habit:
Buying more books than I could read. It has taken me months to get through the list of books that I bought and I still have about five coming for me. And about thirteen more books that I want right now. But I want to re-read Hunger Games and Harry Potter and Bloodlines and Beautiful Creatures and…well I’m sure I’ll think of something. I just want to read and read and read. It’s not a bad habit, but the fact I can’t read everything all at once annoys me. But it’s not physically possible, unfortunately.

marks the spot: Start at the top of your shelf and pick the 27th book:
Because all my books are packed up, I’ll just say the first one that comes to mind. And that is Incarnation by Emma Cornwall. It’s a mix of Cornwall’s characters and Stoker’s characters. I can’t wait to read it. It sounds brilliant.

Your latest book purchase:
Hawaii by James A. Michener. Not for me, but for my mum for Christmas. She said she read it years ago, loved it, but gave it away and never got it back. So I thought I’d replace it for her. Every one needs that book that they can still remember years and years later.

Zzz-snatcher book (last book that kept you up way too late):
That’d probably be Dracula  again. I read until my eyelids were lead last night. I love it so much.

 

About Bec Graham

Bec Graham, 24, was born on the wrong continent. Everything from her burns-like-paper skin tone to her inability to cope with the slightest hint of a hot day suggests she should have been born under the gloomy skies and mild sun of the UK. She hopes writing will get her to her rightful home one day. Failing that, she scans the skies for a spinning blue police box, hoping to catch a lift back to the motherland.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An A-Z of Being a Bookworm

  1. Pingback: Screw the Program | My Infernal Imagination

Leave a Reply

