Countdown to my date with Fall Out Boy – 7 days to go

As much as I love Fall Out Boy, there was something that always wore at me, like a farmer’s friend hidden in my sock. Patrick was the star. He was frontman plus sorted out the composition of FOB’s music. Don’t get me wrong, the other guys are also very talented. But what I always hated was the fact that the media, and therefore everybody else, focused on Pete. Because he’s pretty. So in every FOB poster I tacked to my bedroom wall I was forced to stare at Pete’s eyeliner. Patrick was hidden away in the background because he was overweight. Fucking ridiculous.

See what I mean?

See what I mean?

But then the hiatus happened and everyone went their separate ways. Pete was in a band that I can’t remember the name of. Andy and Joe split off into a band together that was a bit too hardcore for my tastes. And then there was Patrick. He lost weight, went solo and, in my humble opinion, fared the best out of the lot of them. Who remembers  “Spotlight (Oh Nostalgia)”? For a refresher course into Patrick’s awesomeness, click here. He had a couple of other singles, but that was my favourite. It was such an uplifting song. Especially when coupled with the video.

Seriously. Click the link.

Which brings me to my song for today:

What A Catch, Donnie

“What A Catch, Donnie” may have been the third single from Folie à Deux  but it was the first video in a long, long time that focused on Patrick. Just Patrick. Right until the very end, when everybody…well, just watch. But this was such a refreshing music video that I watched it at least five times on the day it came out. I was so proud of Fueled By Ramen. My man Patrick was finally being recognised.

Sidebar: I just found out that Patrick was in an episode of House last year and Law & Order back in 2008. Guess who’ll be doing some YouTube  stalking…?

The video is amazing, but the song itself is phenomenal.

I’ve got troubled thoughts and the self-esteem to match
What a catch. What a catch.

Hasn’t everybody felt that way at some point or another? I know I have. Many, many times. There’s such a simple honesty to this song. No high-flying metaphors or convoluted language. Just simple emotion sung as a story. Beautiful.

I love the end to this song. Right at the very end, a bunch of Decaydance  artists sing the  most memorable lyrics from Fall Out Boy’s best known songs. I like to think this is a way to showcase the talent that Fall Out Boy have paved the way for. Decaydance is a label owned by Pete Wentz “and partners”, according to Wikipedia. The fact that Pete “and partners” own a record label is, to me, indicative of Fall Out Boy’s influence in the pop punk genre. One of the bands they signed? Panic! At The Disco. ‘Nuff said.

Anyways, right at the very end you have all of these awesome musicians singing Fall Out Boy songs:

  • Gabe Saporta – Grand Theft Autumn
  • Travis McCoy – Sugar We’re Goin’ Down
  • Brendon Urie – Dance, Dance
  • Doug Neumann – This Ain’t A Scene, It’s An Arms Race
  • Alex DeLeon – Thnks Fr Th Mmrs
  • William Beckett – Growing Up

Next time you listen to this song, really listen. The only voices I recognised the first time I heard ‘What A Catch, Donnie” were Brendon and William. When I listened to the song with this list in front of me, I fangirled a bit. OK, a lot. Because these men and their respective bands (Cobra Starship, Gym Class Heroes, Panic! At The Disco, The Cab, The Academy Is…) were all part of Decaydance at this point. Some of these bands have moved on since 2008, but at this point they all came together to celebrate the band that gave them their start. Which I think is inspirational.

And if this isn’t enough, musical heavy-weight Elvis Costello also made a cameo appearance during the bridge. Now that is impressive.

About Bec Graham

Bec Graham, 24, was born on the wrong continent. Everything from her burns-like-paper skin tone to her inability to cope with the slightest hint of a hot day suggests she should have been born under the gloomy skies and mild sun of the UK. She hopes writing will get her to her rightful home one day. Failing that, she scans the skies for a spinning blue police box, hoping to catch a lift back to the motherland.
This entry was posted in My Fangirl Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Countdown to my date with Fall Out Boy – 7 days to go

  1. Pingback: Countdown to my date with Fall Out Boy – 6 days to go | My Infernal Imagination

  2. Pingback: Countdown to my date with Fall Out Boy – 5 days to go | My Infernal Imagination

  3. Pingback: Countdown to my date with Fall Out Boy – 4 days to go | My Infernal Imagination

  4. Pingback: Countdown to my date with Fall Out Boy – 1 day to go | My Infernal Imagination

  5. Pingback: Fall Out Boy’s Evening Out With…Me | My Infernal Imagination

Leave a Reply

